Tate Tate


Tate's mission is to increase the public's enjoyment and understanding of British art from the 16th century to the present day, as well as modern and contemporary art from around the world.

A Unique Art Experience


Tate was founded in 1897 as the National Gallery of British Art. It was renamed Tate in 1932 when the gallery changed its mission to include national art, after Henry Tate donated his collection of 19th-century British works to the museum. The gallery consists of four branches: Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool, and Tate St. Ives. All four museums share the Tate collection – featuring nearly 70,000 works of art from 1500 to the present day – and display international modern and contemporary art.

GRoW Support


Exhibition - Hilma af Klint & Piet Mondrian: Forms of Life (2023)




Project: Bloomsbury Group Archive Cataloguing Project



American Acquisitions Committee